current
archives
profile
links
cast
email
guestbook
notes
host
image
design

-
January 05, 2005 - 3:21 am

Coming to realize a lot lately. I guess no internet and nothing to do will do that to you.

I have a question or two to pose. Why is that we label people? I mean I'm considered emo and whatnot, but why is that? Is it because I'm quite, I listen to certain bands, I wear band clothing, I have naturally black hair? Who knows, all that I know is that is just used to be called "oh he's just reserved (or quite or shy fill in which ever you use)". Now of course there are some who do act "emo" but I do not consider myself or Grant one of them, inside joke. I don't complain about girls or my current situation. I don't cry about someone left me. I definitely don't write songs about my sorrow.

And what about "straightedge"? I have a few "straightedge" friends, but what about those that just choose not to drink or do drugs? I mean I didn't in high school and didn't plan on doing it later in life it just sort of happened. So does that mean I was straightedge in high school?

Was I "emo" in high school because I listened to different music by myself or was comfortable being alone? I'd like to think not. I suppose labels in general are pointless. Stereotypes may be accurate but what's the point, this individual is still one person.

yesterday - tomorrow