current
archives
profile
links
cast
email
guestbook
notes
host
image
design

I Am My Father's Son
June 16, 2004 - 12:51 pm

As we approach this father's day, I'm sure my father is rethining somethings. Before I relate our tattoo conversation I feel I should briefly describe our family dynamics.

My dad was raised strictly and often he felt that his only brother was loved more. Which sadly, was probably true. I deeply love my dad but at times it would seem he forgets he's a father and a friend talking to his sons instead of a manager over employees. He was usually on the road and so my brothers and I naturally got closer to our mom. Plus she's more relaxed but more on that later. Now that he's home all the time everything's changed. He is uptight about most things and quick to punish. Now don't get me wrong, I know.. "atleast you have a father" yes I know. And I am thankful for that everyday.

Mom is more of the friend. She realizes that we're going to try things and be our own person. She is the one we talk to about problems, questions or just whatever. Mom is the one we ask if want to spend the night at a friend's house or visa versa.

So I went down to the beach for 2 days. As soon as I got there my dad and I went out to lunch. We were basically done and I told him there was something I wanted to talk to him about. Then he realized that we (we being us boys) only to go out with dad when there's something to discuss. And you know what, he guessed it. He was like "what, did you get a tattoo?" so yes dad I got one. Oddly enough, and thanfully, he didn't get upset. Or didn't show it but just wondered why and what did we wrong as parents? hehe, that cracked me up. I told him I'm still the same person and I love him. It's just that he views piercings and tattooes in the biblical sense. Apparently, piercings on males (namely ears) was a sign of slavery to the Egyptians over the Jews. I was about to say, well atleast I didn't get my ear pierced but I don't think that would've gone far. Then he sees tattooes as the mark of Cain. Well hello, our last name is Cain. I have bald ankles (don't ask), a freckle on my eye, can stick my shoulder blades past your mother and a heart of gold. Ok maybe I embelished alittle there but you get the point. Anywho.

Then the conversation got deeper. After realizing when we usually talk to him he asked my why that is. And I told him as honestly as I could. That we feel more comfortable with mom, she was usually around, she's more easy going, easier to talk to, not as judgemental. And then we got into how they're doing with Chris and Hubert. They are really trying his patience but I think it's a good thing. Nobody's perfect and nobody can change over nite. Talked about mom some. How she is a very independent woman and how Doug and Brian both have married independent women. And I think this bothers him. Oh well, I'm sure it'll be the same for me.

It was funny at one point though. He was like "yea your brother Brian has one as well" and I was like "umm, yea one" When he actually has three.

Well that took long enough. I'll explain my dumb behaviors and boredom experiments later.

yesterday - tomorrow