current
archives
profile
links
cast
email
guestbook
notes
host
image
design

Ripped from the Headlines
May 26, 2004 - 11:51 pm

It's great to rediscover experiences from our past.

During this past semester I stumbled upon a radio show I loved to listen to when I was in high school. But sadly it only came on once per week. Here it's on Sun-Fri. It's called Echoes and comes on NPR, sponsored by PRI, hehe. Anyways, it's this guy who gets music from all over that's different styles. And by styles I mean from ambient to celtic to whatever, all with very few vocals. It's beautiful to relax to at the end of a day. And for a 2 hour long program I can usually go to sleep right afterwards.

One other program is actually a tv show. Like Echoes, I watched this during high school. It's alittle more know though. Law & Order. I don't know what it is, but I like it. I suppose it's just nice to have some constants in our life. Something to keep on schedule. I never thought it would happen to me but I had sort of my tv schedule. Mon was Two and Half Men. Tues was 8 Simple Rules and others if I remembered. Wed was Law & Order. Then Thurs was Survivor and CSI. Oh, CSI: Miami sucks balls by the way. Actually they still are my viewing favorites if I'm off from work.

It was funny the other day too, I was listening to Smashing Pumkins "Siamese Dreams" and a song reminded me of when my brothers, neighborhood friends and I would play 'war'. You set up teams, bases and then you're off. If you see somebody on the opposing team "bang bang I got you, ______" and they count to a specified number, usually 30-50, before re-entering the 'war'. Well here's what followed.

brian: hey

my away: bang bang. I got you.

brian: i'll count to 50, but i'm comin' after you.

Oh man, that just about killed me. He knew exactly what I was refering too. And later Doug, my oldest brother, called to rub it in my face that he had won tickets to see the Used and Blink 182. I'll tell ya I love my brothers.

yesterday - tomorrow